Lesson Planning Components


Component #1
Bloom’s Taxonomy

This model gave a very simple outline of how to integrate Bloom’s
taxonomy into lesson planning and more specifically into formal and informal
assessments. I plan to reference that when preparing material for the class and
integrating different questions into both my facilitating but also any pre/post
assessments. Asking deeper thinking questions such as those found in the
examples further up in the taxonomy gives the student an opportunity to reflect
on what they have learnt and potentially have a “light bulb” moment, tying
together what they have been taught.

References:
http://www.cbv.ns.ca/sstudies/links/learn/1414.html

Component #3
Creating a Positive Learning Environment

This YouTube segment gave me some great insight and techniques around
how they create positive learning environments. The advice given in this video
was simple and straight forward which is why I liked it. In my future lesson
planning I will make a greater effort to do introductions and make my class
more personable. Incorporating time into the lesson plan for things like ice
breakers, establishing classroom rules, proper introductions and Q&A sessions are
important to establish a personable and respected feel to class.

References:

Component #4
Motivational Techniques

Goal setting is a great motivator for adults and this website laid out a model
explaining the steps to creating a S.M.A.R.T. goal. This is a useful tool to bring to
the classroom to help students create a goal and stay on track with it. I would
integrate this into the beginning of a course, allowing students the time to think
of the S.M.A.R.T steps and set a goal for what they want to get out of this course
and what they will do to achieve it. I find this would be a great way to keep
students accountable and for them to see measurable success at the end of their
course.

References:
http://topachievement.com/smart.html

Component #5
Assessment

This article spoke more specifically to online courses so part of the reason I
chose this was due to the fact that my job is becoming more geared towards
eLearning. I focused primarily on the feedback portion because I find assessment
results are no good if it does not go along with feedback. For my future classes I
will incorporate pre-assessments to better understand the learning styles of each
student and take the time at the end of a course/module for personal feedback
catered to that person’s needs based on their learning styles.

References:
http://learndat.tech.msu.edu/teach/teaching_styles

Component #6
Instructional Process/Strategies

Starting a new class and meeting new people can be very stressful for many
people, ice breakers are a good strategy to create a comfortable environment and
ease any stress or anxiety. The article I found is a list of various types of ice
breakers and tips on how to use them. Thinking of future classes it is important
to me that I incorporate an ice breaker into day 1 of the course to ensure my
students are comfortable in the class and for me to get to know them better,
creating more of a comfortable feeling.

References:
http://www.teaching.utoronto.ca/gsta/teaching-essentials/ice-breakers.htm

Leave a Reply

