Category 2

Objective

                The quote “motivation and self-monitoring are reciprocally related” p. 115 has interesting

meaning to it.  As seen in figure 5.1 Dimensions of self-directed learning, motivation is the starting point

 to self-directed learning leading into self-monitoring and self-management.  We all require motivation

to learn or complete a task whether it is self motivation or it is brought on by a mentor or a teacher.

 What I have learnt after reflecting on this quote and reading Garrison’s model (1997) is the role I play in

motivating my students, I am the motivator.

                 I think back on my experiences as a learner and with most of these experiences being of the

pedagogy orientation I would say this is course if the first experience that is truly self directed. 

With this course being online and open with only one true deadline which is the course’s end, it is vital

for me to find ways to keep motivated.  I would say this is the best take away from all of this, being able

to motivate myself to learn and keep things interesting is an incredibly difficult task to do.  If I am able to

motivate myself to actively keep up with assignments and not procrastinate, I know I will be able to

translate those motivational feelings into my students.                

                                Reflective

                                                I’ve realized that my responsibility is to keep my trainees motivated, it seems like a bit of a

circle; I’m responsible to motivate my students therefore I need to be motivated to motivate…wow!  But

it is true, at least to me it is.   As I mentioned, with this course being fully self directed I have discovered

ways that keep myself motivated in my own learning, things that I can pass on to my students when I am

training.  Keeping the topics and the assignments interesting and engaging is a big piece for me, having a

variety of learning methods from reading to writing to creating.  Setting realistic and smart deadlines for

yourself, this was something that I did and seriously doubted myself on, I admit I am a procrastinator!  I

was able to overcome this because the topic I am learning about is something that interests me and

intrigues me to the point that I want to keep up with my own schedule.

 

Interpretive

                My “A-HA!” moment has been mentioned a few times in the previous paragraphs, simply that I

am responsible to motivate my students.  I need to create an engaging classroom that makes my

trainees want to learn.  All projects and learning experiences start with motivation, if I have not instilled

this into my trainees then there is a chance that they will not be able to create the drive to learn or do

on their own as effectively as they would have with my support.               

Decisional          

                Thinking of how I will teach in the future, I will be focusing on how I can engage the specific

group I am working with to motivate them.  As a trainer for retail managers I teach several different

topics.  Some of these topics are engaging just as they are, the courses managers come to because they

want to.  Motivating a group of people that want to learn is much easier than the group of people who

are forced to learn about a potentially boring, dry topic that doesn’t  interest them.  With these types of

courses I am asking myself, how do I engage these adults? How do I motivate them? 

                 The first thing I would want to look at is the course content, being able to engage a classroom

right at the beginning of the module is key.  Depending on the topics that are being taught, start off with

group discussions or team building activities.  Doing this at the beginning and incorporating the “why”

we are all here and the expectations of the class should start the day off with some engagement that

would help motivate the trainees.

                Secondly, I want to make sure the course content has purpose.  I am motivated to learn about

something that is relevant and affects me directly in the job I do than to learn about something that is

hypothetical or that might happen 5 years down the road to someone I might meet.  Knowing my

trainee’s level of understanding is a responsibility that also ties into this.  Sometimes being too high-

level, vague or over complicating a topic can turn off a learner’s motivation.  Keeping the material

relevant, simple and to the point will help keep the class engaging and motivate my trainees to grasp

what they have learnt and take it further with their own self-directed learning back in their stores.

Leave a Reply

